I wrote this earlier this year but it is a good one for expressing my thoughts moving in to 2015, the ten years on…

IMG_1228

I’m an army brat, who last July turned 50,

And the numbers of my life run through my head,

I’m a jolly sort; I’d describe myself as nifty,

And since April we were 25 years wed…

I had lived 5 places before being 5,

With another 4 before the age of 10,

It didn’t stop at that; I think that I’ve

Had 12 addresses more to add since then.

So that’s 21, plus a place we own in France,

2 cats, 3 burglaries, with just 1 man,

Then we count 2 daughters, things they did advance,

Till the point I’m at, without a future plan…

Though the doctor said 5 years I’m beyond 9,

8 surgeries, at 1 point death just missed,

As the girls leave home I think I’ll have more time,

For the 85 who are on my Christmas list…

With 3 A’levels, 1 bachelor degree,

I’ve a 4 day job, keep fit 3 times a week,

I think cheerfulness in life, that is the key,

And continued education -I’m a geek!

I have never had depression, I’ve had fun,

Even though my mum was ill when I was 7,

I attended 6 schools, got the peer thing done,

And some people keep 1 friend, I have 11…

I expect to add more places overall,

To the 15 countries looked at, 3 were home,

At 5 foot 3 I’m not exactly tall,

50 kilos, that’s a fairy not a gnome!

If the future isn’t adding up for you,

The times tables seem to stretch ahead from here,

And the years, I think I’m roughly ½ way through,

Though the beat has slowed to ¼ time I fear!

Leave a Reply

