1973 18The old photo archives and my father’s tales of his travels (this week 1974, from Vancouver to Adelaide!) remind me how different my life has been from the shiny bright young things, yet I wouldn’t have it any other way…

A wholesome start for the Officer’s kid,

Wellingtons, windswept and wishful.

Church for the singing stars,

Punctual life was ours,

Dogs, home knit sweaters,

and functional wifely cars,

My Famous Five lifestyle, I think of you still,

A world before DNA let the milk spill…

This is before mum gets sick and we fast forward from dad in the war zones to our home life imploding! Childhood, just how it should be!

Leave a Reply

